The achievements of St John volunteers and youth members have been recognised at the annual Presentation Afternoon.

A total of 38 trophies and awards were handed out at the ceremony which took place in the presence of the Knight Commander Andrew Henton and the Chairman of the St John Guernsey charity Jurat David Hodgetts.

Long serving volunteer Paul Kennedy received the adult Spirit of the Order award (the Polaris Trophy). Paul has been a member of St John for nearly thirty years. As well as giving up his time to provide first aid cover at local events, Paul helps maintain St John’s fleet of vehicles and supports the charity in other ways. He is also a volunteer for the Patient Transport Service.  

First Aider and youth leader Darryl Bye was recognised for his attendance overall contribution to the organisation, while Josh Bonsall received an award for the most public duties attended during the year. 

Joshua Blanchard received the Phyllis Touzeau Trophy for service and extracurricular activities. He was appointed as the St John Guernsey Cadet of the Year and will represent St John at events through 2019.  

Outgoing Cadet of the Year Matthew Holland collected four awards, including the Madge Wherry Trophy for Commitment and the Spirit of the Order award (the Wallace Cameron Trophy), which was presented by the Knight Commander Andrew Henton.   

Mr Henton said “Matthew has been a star. We are lucky to have had such a fantastic character representing us. He has a wise head and maturity and has been a real asset to Guernsey when he has represented us at a national level.” 

Mr Henton added “The youth sections are our future and it is wonderful to recognise what everyone has contributed during the year. These are young people who want to get away from their computers and tablets and get out and enjoy the sort of activities which help build confidence.” 

Louis Bell was named Badger of the Year with Katherine Brache as Deputy Badger of the Year. Several Badgers also received their Super Badger awards for completing their Badger subjects.  

Jurat David Hodgetts, Chairman of St John Guernsey added “It is a fitting end to a year that has seen a number of changes to the youth sections and have resulted in increasing numbers, improving standards and most importantly young people enjoying themselves.”  

Thank you gifts were also presented to Youth leaders, Jackie Pattimore, Lucy Ozanne, Darryl Bye, Michelle Bihet, Jason and Annette Gallienne.  

St John Guernsey Chief Operating Officer Nikki Harrison said “All our youth leaders give a huge amount of time to St John and they have all worked really hard to help us put the recent changes in place. We are very lucky to have such a dedicated Youth team.” 

Full list of winners 


Best Badger (Male): Sarnian – Brandon Leech-Corbet, Brock – Elliot Jones   

Best Badger (Female): Sarnian – Jaiha Marquis, Brock – Ruby Ogier 

Best Badger Achievement: Sarnian – Isabelle Rhodes, Brock – Mali Heaume 

Best Badger Attendance: Sarnian – Katherine Brache, Brock- Emilie Waylen 

Best Badger Commitment: Sarnian – Abigail Gallienne, Brock – Louis Bell

Super Badger Award: Oliver Pedersen, Keylnn Goubert, Joshusa Gomes 

2018 Badger of the Year: Winner – Louis Bell, Deputy – Katherine Brache 

Best Cadet: Sarnian – Jack Harrison, Brock – Jodie Mechem 

Best Senior Cadet: Sarnian – Joshua Blanchard, Brock – Matthew Holland 

Cadet Attendance: Sarnian – Elani Le Maitre, Brock – James King 

Uniform & Presentation: Sarnian – Matilda Shell, Brock –  Erica Watkin 

 Members Member: Sarnian – Jack Harrison, Brock – Erica Watkin 

Cadet Public Duty: Matthew Holland 

2018 Cadet of the Year: Joshua Blanchard 

Leslie Singleton Trophy: Winner – Rhianna Trump, Runner Up – Cian Scally 

Phyllis Touzeau Trophy: Winner – Joshua Blanchard, Runner Up – Kelsea Bougourd 

Madge Wherry Trophy for Commitment: Winner – Matthew Holland, Runner Up – Rhianna Trump 

Spirit of the Order – Wallace Cameron Trophy: Matthew Holland 


Public Duty Award: Josh Bonsall 

Attendance/Overall Contribution: Darryl Bye 

Member in the first 3 years: Janet Unitt & Colette Sarre 

Spirit of the Order: Paul Kennedy 

Certificate of recognition: Phil Ozanne, Paul Kennedy, Rachael Major, Grace Spittal , Betty Fooks 


Posted: March 18, 2019